DIY Meal Planners

ChristieMealCraft3KellieMealCraft3Earlier this week we wrote about meal planning as a way to help clarify chaos in the kitchen.  After writing that post, Kellie and I had the idea that we could make meal planning more enjoyable if we had a fun way to write and display our weekly menus.  We each crafted a simple meal planner for our homes and today we are sharing our creations with you!

Christie’s Picture Frame Meal Planner

I found the inspiration for my craft on the blog My Sister’s Suitcase.  The main thing I wanted for my menu board was to have it to be dry erase.  My kids have always been obsessed with writing on dry erase boards so I figured this gave me the best odds of having the chore of writing out the plan done by someone other than me :).

Supplies:ChristieMealCraft1

  • Picture frame (any one will work as long as it has glass)
  • Scrapbook paper
  • Twine or string
  • Tape or glue
  • Scissors
  • Letter stickers

Directions:

  1. Cut a piece of paper to serve as the background for your craft.  I sized and cut mine using the glass of the frame as a stencil.
  2. Hang a piece of twine or string around the upper right-hand edge of your background paper.  Cut the piece the size you will use for your flag.  Be sure to leave just a bit extra on each end so you will be able to secure it to the backside of the paper.
  3. Take your scrapbook paper and cut the small triangles you will use for your flag.
  4. Tape or glue these triangles to your twine or string.  I used tape but I think either would work fine.ChristieMealCraft2
  5. Once your flag is complete, secure it to your background paper.  To do this, simply bend the ends of the twine or string from your flag around the edge of the scrapbook paper and secure it to the backside of the paper with tape.  If the flag is not laying exactly the way you want it too, use additional tape or glue under some of the triangles to help with the placement.
  6. Use stickers to spell out menu across the top of the paper and the days of the week down the left side of the paper.
  7. Put the scrapbook paper inside the frame, replace the glass and there you have it…your very own dry erase meal planner!!

Kellie’s Picture Frame Meal Planner

After searching images on the web for meal planning display inspiration, I came across a few versions that were made with cookie sheets and magnets.  I loved how that looked so I created my own customized version to match my home decor.  I also really liked that this style of planner would allow my daughters to get involved in the weekly meal plan since they could easily help change the meal options under the magnets each week.

Supplies:

  • Cookie Sheet KellieMealCraft1
  • 12″ by 12″ Scrapbook paper
  • 8.5″ by 11″ paper
  • One 3” by 4” paper bag
  • Lined paper (I used a lined notepad I found for $1 at Michaels)
  • Scissors and/or paper cutter
  • Tape
  • Letter stickers
  • Circular magnets
  • Marker

Directions:

  1. Cut the 12″ by 12″ scrapbook paper to fully cover the back of your baking sheet.  Secure it to the baking sheet with tape.
  2. Tape the 8.5” by 11” paper on top of the background paper.
  3. Next, cut out the triangles to create the flag look for the top of your board. Tape them down across the top of the baking sheet.
  4. Place your letter stickers spelling “MENU” onto the flag shaped paper.
  5. Get the circular magnets and attach your letter stickers for the days of the week right on top of the magnets.KellieMealCraft2
  6. Cut the lined paper to create the small sheets you will write your menu items on (I cut about 40 so I had plenty of blank ones to add menu items on over the coming weeks) and begin writing some of your favorite meals.
  7. Next, display your meals for the week by using the magnets to secure the sheets of paper with meals written on them down the left side of the baking sheet.
  8. Now grab your small envelope and tape it wherever you desire.
  9. Using stickers or marker label the envelope with “Menu Items”.
  10. Load up your menu items envelope with the rest of the cut lined paper.
  11. Use stickers or markers to add any additional personal touches you desire.
  12. Now grab your marker and lay it on the bottom of your pan and congrats!…You are ready to display your handmade menu planning board.  I displayed mine on my kitchen counter using a picture frame stand.

Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

